Ironic Environmentalism

I’m thinking about getting an “eco-waterbottle” printed by The Onion.  I already have a Kleen Kanteen waterbottle that I use for most things, but I don’t know if I can pass up something like this.

This, of course, plays on the classic bumper-sticker, “My other car is a Porsche.”  This has to be one of the most manipulated phrases of all time.  You can find derivations referencing everything from sloths to the millennium falcon.  Of course, the more recent, serious, environmental version is “My other car is a bike.”  I like that.  It’s classy and simple.  What I think is funnier still is when bikers sticker their bikes with “My other bike is a bike.”

But leave it to The Onion to give a big, ironic, “fuck you” to the whole environmental movement.  It’s perfect because it lets you be environmental while humorously criticizing fervent, evangelist environmentalists.  And isn’t that what we all want?

One response to “Ironic Environmentalism

  1. Yes, there us also something ironic and hypocritical about being an environmentalist and flying to Vegas to watch an Ultimate tourney and partaking of all the dam power generated neon and water. I need a water bottle which says “what gets consumed in Vegas, got produced in an unsustainable way elsewhere”.

Leave a Reply

