Ke$ha Isn’t All That Original

I know this may come as a surprise to most of you, but it needed to be said.

Now, you probably have no idea what I’m talking about, so I’ll start from the beginning.  Ke$ha is a singer who entered the scene way back in 2005 (apparently), but didn’t achieve prominence until 2009 when she had a part in Flo Rida’s #1 single, “Right Round.”  A profound achievement to be sure.  Ke$ha became a star in her own right, though, after releasing “Tik Tok,” a catchy-as-hell song that went #1 in most Western countries, broke the record for most downloads in a week, and went triple-platinum in Australia.  Not bad.  Ke$ha – Tik Tok:

But from the first time I heard the song, it sounded to me like a mix between two other songs I’m familiar with: Justice’s “The Party” (Ft. Uffie), and Miley Cyrus/Hannah Montana’s “Nobody’s Perfect.”  I’ve meant to comment on this similarity for a while now, but just haven’t gotten around to it, so imagine my surprise when in doing some background on “Tik Tok” I discovered that Wikipedia also seems to think it bears a resemblance to Uffie.  Take a listen.  Maybe I’m way off base here, but I don’t think so.

Justice – “The Party” (Ft. Uffie):

Miley Cyrus/Hannah Montana – “Everybody Makes Mistakes”:

Just imagine those two songs synthesized.  Eerie, isn’t it?  And I know what you’re thinking, you’re all like, “hold on a minute, you listen to Miley Cyrus?” And I’m like, “well, only occasionally.”  No, but really, the only reason I’ve heard that song is because it’s the climax of one of the coolest videos on YouTube.  A couple years ago there was an online dance battle between the Adam Chu Dance Crew and Miley Cyrus.  This is one of the videos.

Miley and Mandy got wrecked.  Ke$ha doesn’t have her own sound.  Aaand…I’m done here.

Leave a Reply

