The Band and the Wonder of Rock Remixes

I play the drums, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that before.  I used to play in a band back in high school called Spiral Bound.  See we were sitting around trying to think of band names, and it had gotten to the point where we were looking at things and turning them into names…you know, that point where you’re a little desperate.  Anyway, I saw a spiral notebook and I was like, “Hmm, spiral bound…”  You know, like “heading down a spiral path,” or “still traveling the same path…”  It sounded pretty good to me and I liked the connotations, so it stuck.  Approximately the next day I realized everyone immediately thought of spiral notebooks and that it made us sound like shitty high school band.  Isn’t that the worst!

The band broke up at the beginning of senior year, mostly because we fought pretty much the whole time and hardly ever practiced.  I went through a year or two where I didn’t play at all after that.  But I got into drumming because I’m a sucker for rhythm and I would tap my fingers incessantly on everything around me, so eventually I was compelled to get back into it.  I bought an electric drum kit for my dorm room, and I’ve been playing pretty frequently this year.  Maybe some day I’ll be in a band again.  I love to play, I just hate to practice…awkward.

But the whole point of going into this is that I love drums and I love heavy beats.  That’s partly why I love mashups and Girl Talk-esque music, is because they throw a good rap verse over a melodic rock hook with good drums.  Some artists just haven’t caught on though.  Take Drake – I think he’s pretty good honestly (some people hate, but let’s face it, most rappers got a deal but he did it without one), but his hit song “Forever” has a weak beat.  Fortunately, Travis Barker has a habit of recording “remixes” of popular rap songs, which really just means he plays drums over their song.

Like I said, I like “Forever,” but the Travis Barker remix blows it out of the water.  You just can’t touch a beat like that.

Bonus Jam: I swore I’d never do this, but sometimes you’ve just got to give the people what they want.  Here’s a little track we called “Evil Robots and Space Travel” performed live at the L.A.B. in Seattle.  This was from the show we bombed, but that’s a story for another time.  It’s the only track remaining from the show since the guitarist burned the CD.  Seriously.  With a lighter.  Spiral Bound – Evil Robots and Space Travel:

One response to “The Band and the Wonder of Rock Remixes

  1. Ahhh, yes…all these years later…still love the violin and drums and wish the vocals would just…live up to the rest.

Leave a Reply

