Amazing Things

Man, I haven’t posted for a while.  I’ve got so much to write about, but I’ll start by talking about amazing things.

My friend Milo says everyone gets to do a handful of amazing things in life.  His main amazing thing to date happened in a math class in high school.  He borrowed a pen from the cup on the teacher’s desk and sat across the room with his back to the desk.  When he finished the test or the worksheet he was doing, he just tossed the pen backwards over his shoulder without looking.  It landed in the cup.  That’s one of those “are-you-fucking-kidding-me?” moments.  The cup-sized cup, fifteen feet away, without looking or trying.  Pretty amazing, right?

Another friend, Carl, had his own amazing moment when I told him about this.  He was walking along when he thought he felt a bug or something on the back of his neck, so he reached back to brush it away.  Unbeknownst to him though, one of his friends had thrown a tennis ball at him from behind.  He blocked it.  To his friend, it seemed like Carl possessed some ninja/spider sense that let him blindly block the ball from behind.  Damn.

My moment wasn’t quite of that caliber, but it was pretty awesome when it happened.  I was in Logan’s room with Logan, Markham, and Erica.  Logan has two Nerf guns – a shotgun and a revolver.  The shotgun has a double barrel about 16 inches long and “breaks” like a real shotgun to let you load shells.  Erica had been messing with the shotgun, and I had the revolver.  She was six or seven feet from me.  She “broke” the shotgun and was looking at me through one of the barrels.  It was a way to peek at me without being shootable.  I pointed the revolver at her, aimed, and fired.  I shot a dart straight down the barrel she was looking through, so that it stopped just in front of her eye.  One shot.  What are the odds of that?!  We couldn’t believe it.

Just call me Sundance.

Leave a Reply

