Timing

I went on a bike ride with a girl tonight.  One of the first things we talked about was how she rode for the first time since childhood just last summer, and then how I rode a fixed gear.  I told her how it was more fun because I had more control, and didn’t need brakes riding around the Claremont Colleges.  It was a lot of fun.  Coming back down toward Pomona, I was having fun skidding around corners to brake.  We said goodbye right outside my dorm, and I rode around the corner to my door, skidded to a stop, tried to pull my foot out of the toe-cage to touch down and — it was stuck.  I seemed to fall slowly, helplessly, to the left, catching the tile floor with my knees and hands and making an awful racket.  I don’t think she heard though.  Good timing.

faux-fixie3

One response to “Timing

  1. hahahah been there done that!!

Leave a Reply

