On Sleep

I’m engaged in an ongoing war against sleep.  I say war, but it’s really quite a complex relationship, because I wouldn’t say that I dislike sleep.  It’s really very pleasant.  What I dislike – what I detest, even – is that I have to sleep, and that I do sleep, often.  There are people who function on 3 or 4 hours of sleep a night.  I am not one of them.  I get 8 or 9 hours every night, but then come afternoon, in class or while reading book, my vision drops out of focus a little bit.  I keep staring, my eyes keep moving down the page, but I’m thinking of other things.  I jerk myself back into it, but in another couple of minutes…I lose focus…I’m not yet aware I’ve lost focus…and my thoughts are strange – more dreamlike than like thoughts – and my eyelids start…to…droop.  I snap back in a few more times, but it’s a nearly unwinnable struggle.  It saps my time, it puts a damper on much of the productive time I do have.  Sleep is my worst enemy.  Not that I have many.

Leave a Reply

